Glocknerkönig CLASSIC category

As the name suggests, this category is THE classic of the Glocknerkönig. After the start at the village square in Bruck, the road from the checkout point Ferleiten to the Fuscher Törl is closed to traffic from 7:00 to 10:30 a.m.. Thanks to the Großglockner Hochalpenstraßen AG, in addition to all the effort, you can enjoy the ascent from Ferleiten car-free (exception: cars of the organization, the road maintenance and blue light emergency organizations).

  • Start: 7 a.m. Dorfplatz Bruck
  • Distance: 27,3 km. Maximum gradient: 12%. Vertical metres: 1672
  • Route: Bruck 756m, Fusch 813m, Ferleiten 1.145m, Fuschertörl – Memorial Chapel 2.428m (Road closed to traffic from Ferleiten to Fuschertörl)
  • Refreshment point with tea and water at the Piffkar restaurant at 1.620m (KM 19,2)

Categories for the Classic race

  • H/D1 Year of birth in or after 2006
  • H/D2 Year of birth 1996 - 2005
  • H/D3 Year of birth 1986 - 1995
  • H/D4 Year of birth 1976 - 1985
  • H/D5 Year of birth 1966 - 1975
  •  H/D6 Year of birth 1965 or before

There are no separate categories for racing bikes and mountain bikes.

Participation is open to all. The event is open to athletes either with or without licence.

Included in the entry fee

  • Best possible track safety/event organization
  • Professional timekeeping by Datasport
  • free start gift
  • Total closure of the Grossglockner High Alpine Road (from the toll station in Ferleiten from 7.00 to 10.30 a.m.)
  • Professional medical service by the Rotes Kreuz
  • Breakdown service by Sport 2000 (spare parts have to be paid by yourself)
  • Food voucher for the noodle party on Saturday 
  • Supervised refreshment point with water and isotonic drink on the route
  • Freshly baked Kaiserschmarrn and tea at the finish line at Fuscher Törl
  • Trophy / medals as well as material prizes for the first three of each class
  • Trophy / medals as well as prizes for the best 3 teams
  • Start number as a souvenir
  • Finisher medal for each participant
  • Massage to loosen up the calves
  • Clothes bag incl. transport to the finish



Timing: Computer chip timing provided by Fa. Datasport - Switzerland

Note: Our partner Datasport works since this year with the most accurate transponder system on the market. The timing chip is integrated into a saddle seat start number.
The chip deposit and chip rental are waived this year because they are disposable chips!


Ranking Classic: For the first five finishers, the gross time will be taken. Thus, the first five rated according to the order of crossing the finish line (separately in men and women).
From here on the actual (net) time will be taken. The time of each starter is only triggered when crossing the start line.

Course record Classic

The course record in the men's classic classification has been held since 2005 by Roland Stauder with an incredible time of 1:15:15,3 h.

In the women's classic ranking, Janine Meyer has held it since 2023 with a top time of 1:24:50,0 h.